Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-10-26 - 5:03 p.m.

John Peel 1939-2004

I have long felt that the only �celebrity� deaths that would genuinely sadden me would be those of Neil Young and John Peel. Neil Young is still with us but it turns out I was right about Peel.

This was a man with such a vast knowledge of and passion for music of such inconceivably disparate genres that he couldn�t fail to educate and inspire, let alone entertain, anyone with an interest in music growing up in Britain in the 60�s to the 90�s and beyond.

His shows were the evening soundtrack to my adolescence. Thousands of people will tell you the same thing.

Forty years ago he was in the room when Jack Ruby shot Oswald. A few weeks ago, I heard him playing mellow indie pop and virtually unlistenable speed garage. Two days ago I was talking about him. John Peel was a great broadcaster. RIP.


How am I driving?
1 pennyworths so far

Profilage - Previosity - Nextitude



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!