Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-04-09 - 5:48 p.m.

Signs and Wonders

My kind of travel agent:

7 Nites in Dada country - just �199!

London-Edinburgh on National Expressionism -�49!




My kind of eBay item description.

IF YOU WIN IT YOU WILL GET GOOD LUCKY.




My kind of sales technique:

This was taken outside a discount kitchenware shop in Camden. As my camera phone has a resolution of about four pixels you'll have to take my word for it that the sign says:

QUITE NICE MUGS 75p

British marketing at its aggressive best.

1) Put mugs out on the street to attract passers-by

2) Affix yellow starburst for extra impact.

3) Write enticing description on starburst.

QUITE NICE MUGS.

I don't know. Maybe in the past he described similar goods as BRILLIANT MUGS and customers complained that on getting them home, the mugs proved only satisfactory, and wanted their 75p back, and frankly for the hassle and the damage to his reputation he doesn't think it's worth talking the mugs up this time.


Here are some more of the signs from his shop:


Then there was:


And then at the back I spotted:



How am I driving?
9 pennyworths so far

Profilage - Previosity - Nextitude



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!