Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-08-24 - 11:41 p.m.

Here Comes The Chain Again

girlsdontcry was the lucky recipient of the first link in the compilation chain.

I asked for her feedback on the cd, without giving her a tracklist. Here are her comments and the tracks to which they refer.

1. Woo hoo -- played by people who sound like they can play their instruments, which is a very good thing for me.

The Rock-a-Teens, 'Woo-Hoo' (1959)

2. "You don't stand an outside chance" -- don't recognise it, it sounds Rolling Stones-ish and also Beatles-ish. But it isn't either...

The Turtles, 'Outside Chance' (1966)

3. "Be something, be happy" -- is this 80s northern pop music? I saw House of Love recently and it sort of reminded me of them.

Julian Cope, 'Strasbourg' (1984)

4. Track four sounds like Cheap Trick to me... I liked the lyric "black girls only wanna get you high"

Guided By Voices, 'Glad Girls' (2001)*

5. LSD - John Gardner

1960's News excerpt - LSD

6. I have written "Bowie?" I think I was going to look up a lyric to see if it was, knowing that there is nothing less cool than not knowing anything about David Bowie beyond his Live Aid cover of Dancing In The Streets, but what the hey. I DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ELSE.

Syd Barrett, 'Dark Globe' (1970)**

7. Sounds like some 90s Manchester rock, hard to hear the lyrics but I did like it.

Pale Saints, 'Throwing Back the Apple' (1992)

8. reminded me of the only episode of Star Trek I have ever seen... from the line "I was a stone I didn't show emotion". Really nice vocal harmonies on this.

Teenage Fanclub, 'It's All In My Mind' (2005)

9. Citizen Kane - jolly good new noises, hurrah!

Radio interview, Orson Welles & H.G. Wells (1940)

10. is my favourite, I feel like I should know it, it sounds recent. Great lyrics, especially for getting the line �30k OTE in to a pop song.

Brakes 'Heard About Your Band' (2005)

11. Some thrashy guitary thing that didn't really excite me.

The Fall, 'Mere Pseud. Mag. Ed.' (Peel Session version) (2003)

12. Scary harpsichord sound reminds me of Hotel California, even thought I'm guessing it was before that song came out.

The Kinks, 'Two Sisters' (1967)

13. Going, going, gone -- pop music is the best kind of music and this is pop alright. Loved it.

Phil Wainman, 'Going Going Gone' (1968)

14. The Wild Angels, with Peter Fonda... I'm reading his sister's autobiography right now.

Radio Commercial, The Wild Angels (1966)

15. Obviously I know track 15 to sing along too, but am a bit embarrassed that I don't know who sings it... sounds like Joan Baez, but is it?

Stone Poneys, Different Drum (1967)***

16. Gee, I've just realised how much 60s music sounds alike to me... for example, I know I shouldn't say that something reminds me of the Byrds AND the Monkees, but guess what -- it does. It's good though. I like the organ sounds.

The Bees, 'This is the Land' (2004)

17. And finally track 17, which may or may not have come from a children's TV programme I haven't seen? Just a guess.

Theme from The Magic Roundabout


* You see, I thought he was singing 'Black Girls' too, until I looked at the cd case.

** I've known this song for years but only a few weeks ago did it also strike me how much like The Thin Aladdin Stardust nutty Syd sounds on it.

***No, it's Linda Ronstadt.

I enjoyed doing this, and I enjoyed getting the feedback.

Some people don't care much about music. Some people care about music a lot. And some people care about music to a psychotic degree that makes them want everyone to a) see how interesting, varied and esoteric their tastes are and b) like the same music as them. You can spot this last group of socially unpredictable insular freaks by behaviour such as, ooh I don't know, starting cd compilation chains?

Girlsdontcry must now pass the musical baton to starzero who, on receipt of the compilation, must in turn paste my obsessively detailed instructions and await the next torchbearer.

Keep the flame alive!


How am I driving?
4 pennyworths so far

Profilage - Previosity - Nextitude



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!