Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-07-20 - 6:29 p.m.

Sound and fury

Good news: tickets sold - 106.

Bad news: tickets still to sell - 2894.

Rehearsals are going well.

Today we had a break from the routine and went to a friend's recording studio to 'lay down' (oh yeah, I got the lingo) a two-minute excerpt from the play. The Guardian are inviting clips of Edinburgh shows and will put the best ones on their webshite.

I hadn't been to the studio before but had a map. We took the tube two stops from the rehearsal rooms to sunny, leafy, affluent Chiswick. The further we walked, the less leafy and affluent it got and the more concretey and effluent. Still sunny though. As in: walking on the surface of. There's nothing like walking down weird building-site-flanked empty streets with a bunch of moaning actors when it's really, really hot.

We found the studio.

The actors installed themselves in the sound booth and stood around the mic, headphones on. I wonder how long it'll be, I thought, before someone does a 'charity single' joke. People who are not used to voiceover work, radio acting or general standing-behind-a-mic-wearing-headphones, will generally resort to the same jokes. Because they feel a bit self-conscious perhaps. Wearing headphones does that to people. Except bus/tube twats listening to ipod shite, who seem to lack any self-consciousness whatsoever. Except they now seem to have moved onto listening to music on their phones, because it sounds even worse and doesn't involve the wearing of headphones, thus ensuring that everyone can hear how shite it is.

Anyway. People who are not used to voiceover work will generally resort to the same jokes - ones they think no-one has ever heard before.

Sat in the control bit, on the other side of the window to the voice booth, I looked up at my friend who was engineering the recording..

"I wonder how long it'll be before som-" I didn't even get a chance to finish before:

"Feed the Wor-ld!"

Well done, Dave. Yes, very funny.

We got the recording done. In the unlikely even the lacklustre results ever make it to The Guardian website, I'll let you know. Maybe.


How am I driving?
1 pennyworths so far

Profilage - Previosity - Nextitude



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!