Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-08-14 - 10:10 a.m.

Media-ocre

We've had three-star reviews in The Times (it's not online for some reason) and The Scotsman.

Yes, sadly that's three out of five. A three star review is essentially redundant. Like drawing in chalk on a polar bear or adding a teaspoon of tabasco to the world's hottest curry, it makes no palpable difference. Four and five star reviews will get extra punters in, one and two stars may drive them away. Three is essentially meh out of five.

Still, at least they didn't say it was shit. Actually, people who come to see it all seem to love it. Except two journalists. We're awaiting a few more reviews (The Guardian were in yesterday) so maybe some merciful hack will give us that extra star.

Meanwhile, yesterday was Fringe Sunday. This involves a grab-bag, a pick'n'mix, a showcase if you will, of various Fringe acts performing for twenty minutes each in a series of tents in Edinburgh's Meadows area. There are lots of people handing out flyers, lots of confused locals, and a miasma of desperation hanging over the whole event.

It's a chance for fringey fringe acts, performing in smaller venues, to let people see a slice of their act. But some main-venue acts are on too. The funniest thing I saw, intentionally and not, was Jimmy James. Now, I'm not sure, but I think he might be gay. Jimmy was bigging up his show at The Bongo Club. I've never been to The Bongo Club, but I'm betting my hetero ass it's more conducive to a tubby-sassy American drag act's diva impressions than a cold tent in a field at lunchtime. Poor Jimmy was a pink fish out of water. Belting out his best Cher to a bemused crowd of be-anoraked middle-aged locals, I found a new respect for camp in the face of adversity. By the time he cranked out his Tina Turner, he'd turned the crowd. By which I don't they all wanted to have bumsex. I mean they liked his stuff. And he was very good - finishing with a segue of Mae West, Katherine Hepburn, Marilyn Monroe (that was a bit shit) Judy Garland et al.

I don't think many of the good Telegraph-reading folk of Edinburgh will be going to see his full show though. Jimmy clearly already has his constituency - check out the 'people who bought tickets for this show also bought' bit at the bottom of this page.

Ah, God bless The Gays and their predictable entertainment choices!



How am I driving?
1 pennyworths so far

Profilage - Previosity - Nextitude



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!