Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-03-25 - 12:02 a.m.

Dealing the Flop

I wonder if the same thing strikes you as me about this article.

It's a very interesting piece about the dramatic rise of internet poker, but what stands out for me isn't the fact that the company in the article made �183m profit last year.

Nor is it that the marketing director is worth �450m.

It's that the founder of the company is called Anurag Dikshit.

He may be 33 and worth over a billion. But his name is Mr. Dikshit.

Money truly can't buy you happiness.

The article says of Mr. Dikshit, "He is also, for the time being, shy of the media."

I'm not surprised. HIS NAME IS MR. DIKSHIT.

The odd thing is that I didn't even notice his name until I read the bit that says:

"Dikshit (pronounced Dixit) is a mere 33."

Really, when does The Guardian ever advise you how to pronounce a name? When the name is Dikshit, that's when.

But their 'nothing to see here' approach has rather backfired and just drawn even more attention to the fact that the man's name is...well, you get the idea.


Don't you hate it when the weirdo on the tube sits directly opposite you?



How am I driving?
5 pennyworths so far

Profilage - Previosity - Nextitude



about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!